Arunachal By-polls: Over 68% of votes cast for two constituencies

Arunachal by-polls

Story highlights

  • On Thursday, voters cast their votes for the two constituencies of Arunachal
  • The total vote count for the by-polls was recorded 68 percent
  • Pakke-Kessang recorded 86% voter turnout, while Likabali constituency recorded 51% votes

Arunachal Pradesh conducted By-poll elections for the two constituencies on Thursday. The voters of the state used their right to vote and cast votes as many as they can. The total voter’s turnout of the state was recorded 68 percent.

Voting conducted peacefully

On Thursday, the two constituencies of Arunachal Pradesh were having by-election the two assembly constituencies were vacant for a long time.

The two constituencies are Pakke-Kessang in East Kameng district and Likabali seat in Lower Siang. An estimated 68.5% votes were cast in the by-poll.

Pakke-Kessang recorded 86% voter turnout, while Likabali constituency recorded 51% votes, said Joint Chief Electoral officer D.J. Bhattacharjee.

As per the information, the polling began at 7 a.m. and was largely peaceful, except for an incident of damage to EVM by miscreants at Siberity, a booth in Likabali constituency where the exercise was suspended, Mr. Bhatacharjee informed.

Adding more information to it, he said, “Technical snag developed in one EVM at Durpai station under Likabali due to which polling was suspended”.

Elaborate security arrangements were made for the by-polls with the State police, the ITBP and four companies of central paramilitary forces being deployed. The critical polling booths were covered by CRPF and IRB personnel.

Altogether 150 polling personnel were deployed for Pakke-Kessang, while 220 personnel conducted the voting in Likabali, Mr. Bhattacharjee said.

Pakke-Kessang has 7,455 voters including 3,943 women, while Likabali has 10,608 electorates including 5,331 women voters.

On the Pakke-Kessang seat, there is a straight contest between former Deputy Chief Minister Kameng Dolo, who is contesting on a Congress ticket, and BJP nominee BR Waghe.

The Likabali constituency would see a multi-cornered contest with four candidates in the fray. They are Kardo Nyigyor (BJP), Modam Dini (Congress), Gumke Riba (People’s Party of Arunachal) and Independent candidate Sengo Taipodia.

Also Read: Implement outcome of all-party meet on refugees issue, says AAPSU


Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.