Arunachal Bypolls: BJP wrests both seats from Congress

The BJP wrested the Pakke-Kessang and Likabali seats in Arunachal Pradesh from the Congress as the results of the December 21 by-elections were announced on Sunday.

The 60-seat Assembly will now have 49 MLAs from the BJP and one from the Congress. There are nine MLAs from the People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) and an Independent.

B.R. Waghe of the BJP won in Pakke-Kessang by 475 votes, defeating his lone Congress rival, Kameng Dolo, a former Deputy Chief Minister. While Mr Waghe polled 3,517 votes, Mr Dolo bagged 3,042, Joint Chief Electoral Officer D.J. Bhattacharjee said.

In Likabali, Kardo Nyigyor of the BJP won by 305 votes, defeating Gumke Riba of the PPA. Mr Nyigyor polled 3,461 votes and Mr Riba 3,156. Congress candidate Modam Dini polled 362 votes and Independent Sengo Taipodia 675. Twenty-three voters opted for NOTA.

Likabali fell vacant after the then Health and Family Welfare Minister, Jomde Kena, died on September 4. Pakke-Kessang fell vacant after the Gauhati High Court declared the election of Mr Dolo in 2014 void. The court gave the ruling on a petition filed by BJP nominee and former Minister Atum Welly.

Chief Minister Pema Khandu called the victory a Christmas gift to the BJP.

(Source – PTI)


Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.