Jairam Thakur sworn-in as the 6th CM of Himachal Pradesh

jairam thakur oath ceremony

Story highlights

  • The BJP CM candidate Jairam Thakur has sworn-in for the post
  • The event took place at the historic Ridge Maidan of Himachal
  • PM Modi, Amit Shah along with other veterans attended the ceremony

The Chief Minister Candidate of Bhartiya Janta Party for Himachal Pradesh Jairam Thakur has taken the oath as the 6th Chief Minister of the state. The ceremony was observed by PM Modi and Party President Amit Shah along with other leaders as well.

10 out of 14 CMs attended the ceremony

Himachal Pradesh has finally received its sixth Chief Minister in the BJP’s Jairam Thakur. Today, Thakur took an oath for the post and became the 6th CM of Himachal Pradesh succeeding Congress CM Virbhadra Singh.

During the ceremony, the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Party President Amit Shah was present along with other veterans of BJP.

In the ceremony, 10 out of fourteen Chief Ministers of various BJP ruled states attended the event and congratulated Jairam Thakur on the occasion.

The oath-taking ceremony of Jai Ram Thakur as the chief minister of Himachal Pradesh is to take place today at the historic Ridge Maidan.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh, former deputy prime minister LK Advani and several Union ministers and chief ministers also observed the oath-taking ceremony of the newly elected CM of Himachal Pradesh.

The names or number of ministers in the new Himachal government has not been revealed yet.

However, on Tuesday, Vijay Rupani was sworn-in as the Gujarat chief minister.

All about Jairam Thakur

Jai Ram Thakur was born 6 January 1965 in a poor Rajput farming family in Tandi village of Mandi’s Thunag area. He was the fourth child among five siblings.

During the time of education, Jairam was introduced to the ABVP during his graduation at Vallabh Govt. College Mandi, and won the first election under ABVP flag.

Beginning a long association with the student organization. He remained Joint Secretary, State ABVP(1986), Organizing Secretary, ABVP (J&K), (1989-93), State Secretary, Bhartiya Janata Party Yuva Morcha(1993-95), President-State Bhartiya Janata Party Yuva Morcha, B.J.P. District Mandi (2000-03), Vice President State BJP (2003-05), and President State Bhartiya Janata Party (2006-09).

His term as party president is considered as non-controversial and acceptable.

Elected to State Legislative Assembly in 1998 and re-elected in 2003 and 2007 from Chachiot Assembly Constituency which after the delimitation has renamed.

Jairam also remained Chairman, General Development Committee & Education Committee; and Vice-Chairman, State Civil Supplies Corporation Ltd.

Also remained Chairman, Rural Planning Committee and Member of various other House Committees before being inducted into Council of Minister as Panchayati Raj and Rural Development Minister on 09-07-2012.

Later he was elected to the State Legislative Assembly for a consecutive fourth term in December 2012 and after this, he is elected as the sixth Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.

Also Read: Vijay Rupani sworn-in as the 14th Chief Minister of Gujarat


Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.