Meghalaya Polls: LJP releases Second list of candidates

As Meghalaya gears up for elections next year in February, the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) has announced three candidates in the second list.

This takes the total to five candidates announced by the party.

State President, Jamil Ahmed, announced the list and said that Banrilang Jungai will contest from Jowai, Donlang Nongbri, who is also the district president of East Khasi Hills, will contest from Mawlai while Tony Marbaniang, the working youth president, will contest from North Shillong.

LJP had announced only two candidates in the first list in October.

Also Read: Alphons says No Room for Non-Performing MLAs 

The names of Denis Tynsiar from Pynursla and Arelitha K. Sangma from Selsella feature in the first list.

Confident of victory, Ahmed maintained that the party, which is an ally of BJP at the Centre, has garnered support from the people of the state.

“We are aiming to form the next government in Meghalaya and we are looking at contesting in 35-40 seats. Otherwise, how will we form the next government?” he remarked.
Asked about the release of the manifesto, he said other parties have also not released their manifesto and was quick to add, “Time is still there.”

Read More: Meghalaya Polls: Independent Legislators Withdraw Support from Congress 

On the other hand, Ahmed said the party is looking for “clean, honest candidates,” as it is trying to “change the mentality of the people” in regard to money power during elections.

(Inputs from The Shillong Times)


Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.