Neiphiu Rio sworn in as Nagaland CM for the 4th time

neiphiu rio nagaland cm

Story highlights

  • NDPP Chief Neiphiu Rio takes an oath as the Chief Minister in Kohima
  • The oath was administered by the Governor PB Acharya
  • BJP’s ace leaders from the centre and states mark their presence
  • Rio is the first CM to be sworn-in outside the Raj Bhavan

The NDPP legislative party Chief, Neiphiu Rio sworn in as the Chief Ministers of Meghalaya for the fourth time. Other leaders also took an oath as the cabinet ministers today. The oath was administered by the Governor PB Acharya.

Rio is the 1st CM to be sworn-in outside the Raj Bhavan

Nagaland has received a new government in the form of PDA coalition. The party is formed by the alliance of BJP and NDPP.

On Wednesday, the NDPP Chief being the representative of the party took an oath for the post of the Chief Minister for the fourth time as he has served as the Chief Minister for three times in the state between 2003 and 2014, making him the only Nagaland Chief Minister to have served three consecutive terms.

Apart from this, he is the first Chief Ministers who’s oath-taking ceremony was conducted outside the Raj Bhawan.

The new Chief Minister and NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio took an oath at a public function at the Kohima Local Ground today.

The venue holds significance as the announcement of Nagaland’s statehood on December 1, 1963, was made from here by the then president Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan.

Apart from Rio, Y Patton from its ally party, BJP has taken an oath as the Deputy Chief Minister of Nagaland.

Governor appoints ten cabinet ministers

The Governor of Nagaland, PB Acharya has allotted portfolios to the ten ministers from PDA party those will hold the cabinet ministry in the state.

The list of ten ministers chosen for the state cabinet ministry includes CM Chang, G Kaito Aye, Neiba Kronu, S Pangnyu Phom, P Paiwang Konyak, Jacob Zhimomi, Metsubo Jamir, Tongpang Ozukum, V Kashiho Sangtam and Temjem Imna Along.

The newly formed coalition in Nagaland comprised of 32 elected members of the NDPP, BJP, JD(U) and an Independent candidate.

However, they decided to take an oath before the public changing the old custom of taking an oath in the Raj Bhawan.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by various BJP leaders from the centre including party president Amit Shah, Union Minister Kiren Rijiju, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman.

Along with them, other Chief Ministers from various BJP-led states also marks their presence including Arunachal CM Pema Kandhu, Newly elected CM of Meghalaya, Conrad Sangma, Assam CM Sarbanand Sonowal, Manipur CM Biren Singh.

In the event, the former Chief Minister TR Zeliang was also present and observed the day.

Rio to prove majority in a floor test on March 16 

PB Acharya, the Governor of Nagaland recently wrote to a letter to the NDPP Chief to form a government in the state on March 8.

In the letter, Governor also stated that he had received letters of support in favor of Rio from legislators of BJP, JD(U) and an Independent MLA besides NDPP legislators.

Apart from this, the Governor also asked the leader of NDPP Legislative Party to prove his majority in a floor test to be held on March 16 as there was a ruckus going in the state for the post of the Chief Minister.

Also Read: Nagaland Governor Says, Naga Issue to be Solved in Six Months


Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.

1 comment

by Newest
by Best by Newest by Oldest