Vijay Rupani to remain as Gujarat CM, Patel as Deputy CM

vijay rupani gujarat cm

Story highlights

  • Incumbent CM Vijay Rupani to remain as Gujarat CM
  • Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel also to remain on the post
  • Union Minister Arun Jaitley announced recently

The Union Minister Arun Jaitley recently announced that the incumbent Chief Minister of Gujarat Vijay Rupani will remain on the post and will serve for five more years until the next assembly elections in the state.

Jaitley also informed that the Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel will also retain on the same post he was serving till now.

Incumbent Vijay Rupani was today elected the leader of the BJP legislature party in Gujarat and will be the state’s chief minister for a second term, Union Minister.

Along with this, Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel will continue to be the second in command, after he was declared the deputy leader of the legislature party by Jaitley, the central observer appointed by the BJP leadership for the election.

The BJP had registered a sixth straight Assembly poll win in the key western state on December 18, winning 99 seats in the 182-member House.

Though the Congress performed its best in many years, winning 77 seats, it could not unseat the BJP.

Also Read: Gujarat Elections: Is it Really a Congress’ Comeback?


Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.


by Newest
by Best by Newest by Oldest

Vijay Rupani,Nitin Patel honestman